Archives and Special Collections

Why should I visit the Archives?  You may not need any of these materials for a class right now, but I guarantee you that you will be excited by what we have, and you may even be inspired by what you find.  I have personally witnessed ideas exploding from our students brains when looking at our collection of 40,000 menus.  You will connect with the material, too.  We provide a comfortable, informal atmosphere in the hopes of providing you with some inspiration.

Where are you located?  The Archives and Special Collections are located on the main floor of the Hilton Library, beyond the computers.

When can I drop in?  It is always best to make an appointment if you are looking for something specific or working on a project, but you may also drop anytime Monday-Friday, 8:30 am to 5:00 pm.  If I stepped out or am at a meeting, try again later or send me an email and we can arrange a time to meet.  I look forward to meeting you and showing you around!

Why are the doors locked ? The doors are sometimes locked because there are rare, one-of-a-kind materials in the archives.  My job is to make these items accessible, but it is also to make sure that they are safe and secure.  So, when I am not in the room, I need to lock it.

What is in the Archives?  So many interesting things. Use these pages to explore. Or, come by to learn more!

Can I remove items from the Archives?  No.  All items from the archives must be used in the archives reading room.  I will pull materials before your visit, and provide you with direction on how to handle the materials.  You may also take pictures of any of the materials to use later for your research or in your presentations.

I am interested in working in the Archives. What should I do? 

1. Check with Financial Aid to find out if you are either eligible or approved for Federal Work Study.
2. Email Nicole your resume, indicate your FWS status, where you are in your studies at CIA, and why you would like to work in the Archives.  Indicate at least 6 hours a week when you would be available to work this semester.
3. Schedule an appointment with Nicole to discuss.

See you soon!

Researchers and Visitors

Are appointments required?  Yes, appointments are required for researchers from outside the CIA to use the Archives & Special Collections.  Please contact me ahead of time so we can discuss your research and schedule a time to meet.

Can I stop by if I am on campus?  Absolutely.  There are several exhibits of materials from the special collections in the library.  Stop by the reading room, and if I am available, I would be more than happy to show you items from our collections.

Are you interested in donating menus or other materials to the Archives & Special Collections?

Please fill out this form with all the relevant information. We will review your request and will get in touch with you.  Please make sure to verify that the contact information you provide is correct.

Form - Donations to Archives & Special Collections