Skip to main content

New(s) from the Archives and Special Collections


The next Menu Transcribathon will be in October 2017. Stay tuned for more details!

(In the meantime, if you'd like to explore the Archives, stop by or contact Nicole at

When and Where

Join us in the Archives on Wednesday, March 22, 2017 for a marathon of transcribing historical menus from the CIA Menu Collection.  Stop by to look through old menus and we'll get you started transcribing in no time!   We'll also have games and prizes, as well as some "unusual" snacks!

When:    March 15th March 22 from 4:00 to 10:00 pm. (rescheduled because of snow day)

Where:  Archives & Special Collections, Hilton Library (main floor)

Who:      Everyone is welcome!

This will be the 2nd Transcribathon at the CIA - the first was a huge success and we hope you'll help us make the second one a success, as well!

Read on for more information or contact Nicole at or at (845) 451-1270.


What is a Transcribathon?

A Transcribathon is a marathon when a group spends time together transcribing textual documents (in this case, menus).  Other colleges do it, too...

What is Transcribing?

Transcribing is recording exactly what is written (no translating or interpreting…) for the purpose of keyword searching the text of the menu in a digital collection.

Why do you need to transcribe the menus?

When we add menus to our digital collection, we make sure there is a transcription so that the menu is fully searchable. This way you can search for dishes--for instance, what is the earliest menu to list spaghetti?

In order to search this:                                                                                         We do this:



Will I be able to see some actual menus?

Absolutely. We will transcribe from jpgs but the actual menus will be in the Archives room for you to look at. Because we will have food and drinks, they will have to stay in the Archives room to be safe from spills and sticky hands :)

Can I stay for only a little while?

Yes, stay for as little or as long as you would like!

How will I know what to do?

We will provide introductions, instructions, and we will be here the entire time to answer questions!

I don't type well.

Don't worry about it!  I'll even show you some shortcuts so it won't be as much typing!

Do I need to register?

We would like it if you did just so we know how many menus to have ready and how many snacks to buy!  But we won't turn anyone away for not registering.  Come anyway!

I still don't understand...

No problem!  Just give me a call or shoot me an email. (845) 451-1270

I'd be happy to answer any of your questions!


The Culinary Institute of America | Conrad N. Hilton Library | 1946 Campus Drive | Hyde Park, NY 12538-1430
Telephone: 845-451-1747 | Email: | Facebook Twitter