Arabic Bread Production by
Focusing on the principles that underlie the automated production of Arabic bread, this volume takes a handbook approach to describing the ingredient and processing requirements of Arabic bread, as well as various aspects of bread quality, nutrition, and bread spoilage. The author draws on technical research from the Bread Institute of Australia, his experience in processing plants, and a review of the relevant literature to write a book that is the perfect reference for bakers and other food industry professionals.
Arabic Script by
This guide to the Arabic alphabet and writing styles also presents a comprehensive overview of the Arab culture and civilization through history.
An Introduction to Arabic Literature by
Roger Allen provides a comprehensive introductory survey of literary texts in Arabic, from their unknown beginnings in the fifth century AD to the present. The volume focuses on the major genres of Arabic literature, dealing with Islam's sacred text, the Qur'an, and a wealth of poetry, narrative prose, drama and criticism. Allen reveals the continuities that link the creative output of the present day to the illustrious literary heritage of the past and incorporates an enormously rich body of popular literature typified most famously by The Arabian Nights. The volume is informed by Western critical approaches, but within each chapter the emphasis is on the texts themselves, with extensive quotations in English translation. Reference features include a chronology and a guide to further reading. A revised and abridged version of Allen's acclaimed study, The Arabic Literary Heritage, this book provides an invaluable student introduction to a major non-Western literary tradition.
Moon Morocco by
Grand imperial cities, calm desert oases, Mediterranean beaches, and ancient history: experience an incredible crossroads of culture with Moon Morocco. Inside you'll find: Flexible itineraries for visiting UNESCO World Heritage Sites and holy places, plus a two-week best of Morocco trip to Marrakesh, Casablanca, Fez, and more Top sights and unique experiences: Cook your own traditional tajines in a restored riad or treat yourself to world-class French cuisine. Trek the soaring peaks and jaw-dropping valleys of Morocco's four mountain ranges (by foot, or by mule!), or relax on miles of idyllic beaches. Sip refreshing mint tea and unwind in a traditional hammam, or haggle at a busy souk Expert insight from Morocco local Lucas Peters on how to support local and sustainable businesses, avoid crowds, and respectfully engage with the culture Full-color, vibrant photos and detailed maps throughout Reliable background on the landscape, climate, history, government, and cultural customs and etiquette, plus useful tips for public transportation, car and bike rentals, and air travel Handy tools including Darija and French phrasebooks, visa information, accommodations, and travel tips for families, seniors, travelers with disabilities, women, travelers of color, and LGBTQ travelers With Moon's practical advice and local know-how, you can experience the best of Morocco. Sticking to Marrakesh? Try Moon Marrakesh & Beyond. About Moon Travel Guides: Moon was founded in 1973 to empower independent, active, and conscious travel. We prioritize local businesses, outdoor recreation, and traveling strategically and sustainably. Moon Travel Guides are written by local, expert authors with great stories to tell--and they can't wait to share their favorite places with you. For more inspiration, follow @moonguides on social media.
National Geographic Traveler: Morocco by
The relaunched National Geographic Traveler guidebooks are in tune with the growing trend toward experiential travel, providing more insider tips and expert advice for a more authentic, cultural experience of each destination. These books serve discerning, curious travelers and supply information and interpretation not available on the Internet. In response to the interests of today's traveler, the acclaimed National Geographic Traveler series includes exciting new editorial features, a contemporary redesign, and inviting new covers.
Sugar Comes from Arabic by
A user-friendly Arabic alphabet-and-culture book for complete beginners No other Arabic alphabet book demystifies the letters in such a comfortable way, by introducing them in English alphabetical order of the Roman alphabet and using the spelling of English names and words as a way to learn the Arabic. Look up matching letters, follow the directions, and soon you'll be writing your own name in Arabic! Clear, concise illustrations show how to draw and remember each letter. Color photographs and explorations of individual words reveal important and often unrecognized connections between the West and the Arab world, such as the delicious gift of sugar. Sugar Comes from Arabic is an exciting entry into the language of more than twenty countries and more than 300 million people. Simple stick-figure cartoons show you how to draw and remember each letter. Winning illustrations of words reveal important and too-often-unrecognized connections between our cultures, such as the delicious gift of sugar we received from the Arab world. This book is an irresistible way to raise cultural literacy.
Traditional Moroccan Cuisine Cookbook by
Discover the delight of traditional Moroccan food with "Easy Delicious Moroccan Cookbook"! This book features 40 simple Moroccan recipes, including Moroccan Vegetable Tagine, Quick Moroccan Tagine, Easy Moroccan Couscous, as well as the delightful Bissara soup and traditional Harira. Designed to be the perfect guide for beginners, this cookbook offers step-by-step instructions for an easy Moroccan cooking experience. Whether you're new to Moroccan cuisine or looking for quick ways to prepare traditional dishes, you'll find the recipes in this book inspiring and easy to follow. Immerse yourself in the aromatic flavors and rich spices with traditional recipes simplified for your daily life. Begin your cooking journey with "40 Simple Moroccan Recipes" that make preparing traditional Moroccan food easy and delicious for beginners. Start making Moroccan dishes with ease!
The Breath of a Wok by
Award-winning author Grace Young celebrates and demystifies the art of wok cooking for the Western home cook. When Grace Young was a child, her father instilled in her a lasting appreciation of wok hay, the highly prized but elusive taste that food achieves when properly stir-fried in a wok. As an adult, Young aspired to create that taste in her own kitchen. Grace Young's quest to master wok cooking led her throughout the United States, Hong Kong, and mainland China. Along with award-winning photographer Alan Richardson, Young sought the advice of home cooks, professional chefs, and esteemed culinary teachers like Cecilia Chiang, Florence Lin, and Ken Hom. Their instructions, stories, and recipes, gathered in this richly designed and illustrated volume, offer not only expert lessons in the art of wok cooking, but also capture a beautiful and timeless way of life. With its emphasis on cooking with all the senses, The Breath of a Wok brings the techniques and flavors of old-world wok cooking into today's kitchen, enabling anyone to stir-fry with wok hay. IACP award-winner Young details the fundamentals of selecting, seasoning, and caring for a wok, as well as the range of the wok's uses; this surprisingly inexpensive utensil serves as the ultimate multipurpose kitchen tool. The 125 recipes are a testament to the versatility of the wok, with stir-fried, smoked, pan-fried, braised, boiled, poached, steamed, and deep-fried dishes that include not only the classics of wok cooking, like Kung Pao Chicken and Moo Shoo Pork, but also unusual dishes like Sizzling Pepper and Salt Shrimp, Three Teacup Chicken, and Scallion and Ginger Lo Mein. Young's elegant prose and Richardson's extraordinary photographs create a unique and unforgettable picture of artisan wok makers in mainland China, street markets in Hong Kong, and a "wok-a-thon" in which Young's family of aunties, uncles, and cousins cooks together in a lively exchange of recipes and stories. A visit with author Amy Tan also becomes a family event when Tan and her sisters prepare New Year's dumplings. Additionally, there are menus for family-style meals and for Chinese New Year festivities, an illustrated glossary, and a source guide to purchasing ingredients, woks, and accessories. Written with the intimacy of a memoir and the immediacy of a travelogue, this recipe-rich volume is a celebration of cultural and culinary delights.
Dim Sum by
Chef Janice Wong's approach to cuisine is novel and innovative--she views familiar items in a different light, twisting and combining them in a unique way. In this book with dim sum expert Chef Ma Jian Jun, Chef Wong brings her unique concepts and presentation to the traditional Cantonese art of dim sum. Together they have pioneered a collection of over 90 traditional recipes as well as new creations incorporating both Chef Ma's impeccable craft and Chef Wong's pastry vision.
Every Grain of Rice by
Fuchsia Dunlop trained as a chef in China's leading Sichuan cooking school and possesses the rare ability to write recipes for authentic Chinese food that you can make at home. Following her two seminal volumes on Sichuan and Hunan cooking, Every Grain of Rice is inspired by the vibrant everyday cooking of southern China, in which vegetables play the starring role, with small portions of meat and fish. Try your hand at stir-fried potato slivers with chili pepper, vegetarian "Gong Bao Chicken," sour-and-hot mushroom soup, or, if you're ever in need of a quick fix, Fuchsia's emergency late-night noodles. Many of the recipes require few ingredients and are ridiculously easy to make. Fuchsia also includes a comprehensive introduction to the key seasonings and techniques of the Chinese kitchen. With stunning photography and clear instructions, this is an essential cookbook for everyone, beginner and connoisseur alike, eager to introduce Chinese dishes into their daily cooking repertoire.
Land of Fish and Rice by
2017 Nominee for James Beard Cookbook Award: International 2017 Nominee for IACP Cookbook Award: International The lower Yangtze region, or Jiangnan, with its modern capital Shanghai, has been known since ancient times as a "land of fish and rice." For centuries, local cooks have harvested the bounty of its lakes, rivers, fields, and mountains to create a cuisine renowned for its delicacy and beauty. In Land of Fish and Rice, Fuchsia Dunlop draws on years of study and exploration to present the recipes, techniques, and ingredients of the Jiangnan kitchen. You will be inspired to try classic dishes such as Beggar's Chicken and sumptuous Dongpo Pork, as well as fresh, simple recipes such as Clear-Steamed Sea Bass and Fresh Soybeans with Pickled Greens. Evocatively written and featuring stunning recipe photography, this is an important new work celebrating one of China's most fascinating culinary regions. Winner, 2016 Andre Simon award (UK) Winner, 2017 Cookbook of the Year (British Guild of Food Writers)
Redrawing Nations by
After World War II, some 12 million Germans, 3 million Poles and Ukrainians, and tens of thousands of Hungarians were expelled from their homes and forced to migrate to their supposed countries of origin. Using freshly available materials from Polish, Ukrainian, Russian, Czechoslovak, German, British, and American archives, the contributors to this book provide a sweeping, detailed account of the turmoil caused by the huge wave of forced migration during the nascent Cold War. The book also documents the deep and lasting political, social, and economic consequences of this traumatic time, raising difficult questions about the effect of forced migration on postwar reconstruction, the rise of Communism, and the growing tensions between Western Europe and the Eastern bloc. Those interested in European Cold-War history will find this book indispensable for understanding the profound--but hitherto little known--upheavals caused by the massive ethnic cleansing that took place from 1944 to 1948.
Writing Women in Late Imperial China by
Until recently only a handful of women writers were thought to have existed in traditional China, but new scholarship has called attention to several hundred whose works have survived. Coming from the fields of literature, history, art history, and comparative literature, the fourteen contributors to this volume apply a range of methodologies to this new material and to other sources concerning women writers in China from 1600 to 1900. An opening section on courtesans details the lives of individual women and their male admirers--contemporary and subsequent--who imposed an array of meaning on the category of woman writer. The works treated in this section are mainly poetry, although drama also enters in. The second section focuses on the writings of gentrywomen who, confined to the inner quarters of their residences, turned out a body of poetry impressive both for its volume and for the number of authors involved. The third section takes up the issue of contextualization: how male writers situated women's poetry in their essays, stories, and travelogues. The fourth section pursues the same issue, but with reference to China's greatest work of fiction, Dream of the Red Chamber, first published in 1792, most of whose leading characters are talented gentrywomen. The volume concludes with a chapter by a specialist in comparative literature, who relates the concerns of the other chapters to literary and feminist studies outside the China field.
Ammu by
A new cookbook from the star of Netflix's Chef's Table and one of the world's most prominent female chefs Heart-warming and full of comforting aromatic Indian flavors: Indian food from home, cooked with heart Ammu is a collection of recipes from Asma Khan's childhood, her Indian family kitchen. It is a celebration of where she comes from, of home cooking, and the inextricable link between food and love. It is also a chance for Asma to honor her ammu--mother--and to share with us the recipes that made her and rooted her to home. This book is a joyful celebration of memories of food, and its power to heal, restore, and comfort. It includes her ammu's comfort food from childhood, the recipes with which she was taught to cook, celebratory food for special occasions, and slow-cooked recipes passed through the generations of her family. The recipes and the memories she shares all possess something that is universal: food is a way for us to have this conversation about how similar we all are--how it connects us and unites us beyond differing appearances, accents, races and backgrounds. With stunning food and family photos, this cookbook is a must-have for cooks and lovers of Indian food.
Benares by
At Benares the superior service and setting are the height of luxury, but it is the sublime food that truly sets the restaurant apart. Atul Kochhar's unique, world-class cuisine is showcased in this beautiful book of recipes from his Michelin-starred kitchen. Eighty signature dishes reflect the excellent food ethos that Atul has created using the best of British produce with his modern Indian style. Every aromatic desire is explored on a journey to the heart of Benares, revealing exotic fusions and dazzling flavors. Across starters, mains, desserts, sides, and accompaniments, each heavenly taste is a tribute to this master's work. This is not the same Atul as seen on TV--it's the Atul who has conquered the Michelin world with his expert gastronomy. The Benares Cookbook is the epicurean artifact the fine-dining room deserves. This is a benchmark work: a cookbook to treasure and use to conjure the masterly Michelin spirit in your home. With excellent photography by Mike Cooper.
City of Djinns by
Peeling back the layers of Delhi's centuries-old history, City of Djinns is an irresistible blend of research and adventure. Sparkling with irrepressible wit, City of Djinns peels back the layers of Delhi's centuries-old history, revealing an extraordinary array of characters along the way-from eunuchs to descendants of great Moguls. With refreshingly open-minded curiosity, William Dalrymple explores the seven "dead" cities of Delhi as well as the eighth city--today's Delhi. Underlying his quest is the legend of the djinns, fire-formed spirits that are said to assure the city's Phoenix-like regeneration no matter how many times it is destroyed. Entertaining, fascinating, and informative, City of Djinns is an irresistible blend of research and adventure.
The Complete Taj Mahal by
Leads the reader through the whole complex and gardens of the Taj Mahal, illustrated by hundreds of new photographs and drawings and with an in-depth explanation of each building. This encounter is framed by a complete account of the mausoleum's urban setting, its design and construction, its symbolic meaning, and its history up to the present day, with the result that the most familiar image in the world is suddenly endowed with new significance and added wonder.
Grow Long, Blessed Night by
Like red earth and streaming rain,our loving hearts mergedall by themselves.Captured in these centuries-old verses are the intoxication of new love, the romance of courtship, and the longing of separated lovers. Here are the voices of older women advising their younger friends, the words of messengers conveying secrets between lovers, and the musings of lovers to themselves. Culled from large anthologies that date from as early as the first century CE to as late as the eighth, Martha Ann Selby's masterful translations allow the poems to stand on their own in English while still maintaining the flavors of the original verses as reflected in idiom and structure. The books 200 erotic poems are composed in India's three classical languages, Old Tamil, Maharastri Prakit, and Sanskrit, and grouped according to themes, with annotations provided whenever a brief gloss is necessary. After opening with several informative essays on the poems and how to read them, their origin, and the languages in which they were composed, the book proceeds with the delicate images, voices, and emotions of the verses themselves.
A History of Indian Literature in English by
From Ram Mohan Ray to Arundhati Roy, two hundred years of Indian literature in English are covered in this volume, essential for anyone interested in this increasingly important literary tradition. Spanning a period from 1800 to the present, this collection of historical essays covers the canonical Indian poets, novelists, and dramatists writing in English--names like Rudyard Kipling, Rabrindanath Tagore, R.K. Narayan, and Salman Rushdie--as well as lesser-known literary figures--scientists, social reformers, anthropologists--who have made significant contributions to the evolution of Indian literature in English. The essays in this volume are arranged chronologically and are devoted to a single author, a group of authors, or to a genre. The book includes 150 rare and interesting photographs and sketches of writers and their contexts.
How to Cook Indian by
Sanjeev Kapoor burst onto the scene in India with an easy, no-fuss cooking approach. More than a decade later, he is a global sensation with an international media empire that is rooted in this philosophy. In How to Cook Indian, Kapoor introduces American audiences to this simple cooking approach with a definitive book that is the only Indian cookbook you will ever need. His collection covers the depth and diversity of Indian recipes, including such favorites as butter chicken, palak paneer, and samosas, along with less-familiar dishes that are sure to become new favorites, including soups and shorbas; kebabs, snacks, and starters; main dishes; pickles and chutneys; breads; and more. The ingredients are easy to find, and suggested substitutions make these simple recipes even easier. Praise for How to Cook Indian: "Those interested in expanding upon their collection of (brilliant, essential, important) books from Madhur Jaffrey, or in adding a reference work to accompany Suvir Saran's terrific Indian Home Cooking, may do well to make Kapoor's acquaintance." -The New York Times "He may not be an icon here yet, but Sanjeev Kapoor is certainly one in India, where he has been called 'the Rachael Ray of India' (but by Ray's own admission, he has a bigger audience, has published more books, and been on TV longer). Kapoor makes his U.S. debut with How to Cook Indian." --Publishers Weekly "It's time for Americans to finally learn about India's first and biggest celebrity chef, Sanjeev Kapoor. With a daily television show that has 500 million viewers in 120 countries, as well as more than 140 cookbooks and over 20 restaurants to his name-plus his own TV station in the making-Kapoor has a huge following of housewives, their mothers-in-law, and even their husbands." -Food & Wine "Cool as a grated cucumber and mellow as a mango lassi, Sanjeev Kapoor is poised to conquer those few corners of the world where he and his food are not yet well known." -Washington Post
Indian accent : restaurant cookbook by
"Indian Accent showcases inventive Indian cuisine by complementing the flavours and traditions of India with global ingredients and techniques. Chef Manish Mehrotra has designed the menu of Indian Accent. The original restaurant opened in 20098 ad The Manor, New Delhi, to significant acclaim for its path-breaking approach to contemporary Indian food. It moved to The Lodhi in 2017. Indian Accent, New Delhi, has won several awards and global recognition, including being the only restaurant from India on the World's 100 Best list since 2015. It is also part of the Time Magazine, 100 Great Destinations in the World. It opened in New York in 2016 and in London in 2017 to critical and popular acclaim." -- Front flap.
Regional Indian Cooking by
Take a tour of India in your own kitchen with this simple and easy-to-follow Indian cookbook! Regional Indian Cooking celebrates the cooking styles and regional specialties of the five main regions in India--North, South, East, West and Central--each with its own distinctive geography, lifestyle and culture. In keeping with the Indian philosophy of balance and the ancient principles of Ayurveda, author Ajoy Joshi makes it easy for cooks of all abilities to prepare unusual and delicious Indian dishes using only the freshest ingredients and spices that promote health and well-being. Each of the 120 recipes is presented in simple steps with helpful suggestions for delicious meat or vegetarian menus serving up to eight. Authentic Indian recipes include: Spiced Spinach (North) Chicken Biriyani (South) Shrimp Balchao (West) Homestyle Meat Broth (Central) Mango and Pistachio Ice Cream (East) Each region's cuisine has highlights to offer the home cook, from mouthwatering marinated kebabs of the north to the hot and spicy curries of the South. Emphasis on different ingredients distinguishes the East, with its use of mustard oil and curry leaves, from the abundant seafood and coconut-rich dishes of the West. The journey ends with the subtle melting pot of Central cuisine, which blends the best of the surrounding regions with centuries of global influence, and comes closest to defining Indian food around the world.
Sources of Indian Tradition by
Since 1958 one of the most important and widely used texts on civilization in South Asia (now the nation-states of India, Pakstan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Nepal), this classic is now extensively revised, with much new material added. Introductory essays explain the particular settings in which leading Indian thinkers have expressed their ideas about religious, social, political, and economic questions. Brief summaries precede each passage from their writings or sayings. Chapters address the opening of India to the West; Hindu and Muslim social and religious reform movements; the emergence of both moderate and extremist nationalisms; the thought of Mahatma Gandhi; public policies for independent India; Pakistan's formation as an Islamic state, and other topics.
Chinese Cuisine Taiwanese Style by
Bilingual: English and Chinese.
Culture and customs of Taiwan by
Profiles the culture and history of Taiwan and includes information about the country's geography, people, art, religions, literature, traditions, food, and economy.
Taiwan's Expanding Role in the International Arena by
Emerging as a formidable opposition party in Taiwan in 1986, the Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) is now a major challenger on the island's political scene. This text presents a dialogue between DPP's policy-makers and the leading critics from the international scholarly community.
Taiwan: a New History by
This book explores Taiwan's development from its beginnings as a political entity to a home for a Mingloyalist regime, to its centuries as a Ch'ing prefecture and province, to its half-century as a Japanese possession, and to fifty years as the home of the Kuomintang-controlled Republic of China.
Win Son Presents a Taiwanese American Cookbook by
ONE OF THE BEST COOKBOOKS OF THE YEAR: Los Angeles Times, Food & Wine A modern, brashly flavorful guide to cooking Taiwanese American food, from Josh Ku and Trigg Brown--co-owners of Brooklyn's lauded Win Son Bakery--and Cathy Erway, celebrated James Beard Award-winning writer and expert on the cuisine. Josh Ku, born in Queens to parents from southern Taiwan, and Trigg Brown, a native Virginian whose mentor was a Taiwanese-American chef, forged a friendship over food--specifically, excellent tsang ying tou, or "flies' head," a dish of chopped budding chives kissed with pork fat. Their obsession with Taiwanese food and culture propelled them to open Win Son together in 2016. The East Williamsburg restaurant quickly established itself as a destination and often incurs long waits for their vibrant and flavorful Taiwanese American cuisine. With 100 creative yet accessible recipes, this book will unravel the history of this diaspora cuisine. While featuring classic dishes and well-known favorites, this cookbook also stretches this cuisine's definition, introducing new dishes with brazen twists that are fun, flavorful, and decidedly American-born in style. Including recipes such as: Fried Eggplant with Black Vinegar, Labneh, and Spiced Cashews Grilled Shrimp with Chili Butter and Cilantro Black Sesame Noodles with Mushrooms Big Chicken Buns with Fu Ru Mayo, Cilantro, and Scallions Pei's White Mapo Tofu Ku and Brown have teamed up with Cathy Erway, Taiwanese food expert and celebrated writer, to create Win Son Presents a Taiwanese American Cookbook which explores and celebrates the cuisine of Taiwan and its ever-simmering pot of creative influences. Told through the eyes, taste buds, travels, and busy lives of Ku, Brown, and Erway, this book brings the cuisine of this misunderstood island nation into the spotlight. Includes color photographs
Chinese One Dish Meals by
This text offers simple, delicious Chinese dishes suitable for one or two persons or for family meals. Each recipe has been simplified to enable readers to make it in their own kitchens. The recipes range from rice, congee and noodle soups to vermicelli, rice noodles, and Chinese New Year's Cake.
Pei Mei's Chinese cook book. P'ei-mei shih p'u. by
Recipes are arranged in Volume [I] (1969) according to geographical place of origin, in Volume II (1974) according to ingredients, under eleven separate headings, in Volume III (1979) according to nine complete Chinese banquet dinners from different provinces. Dictionaries of key Chinese terms and descriptions of obscure ingredients are included.
Stella Chan's secrets in the art of Chinese cooking by 
The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by
Rendering with warmth the endless human capacity to persevere, this is the long-awaited--and thrillingly satisfying--first novel from the unmistakable voice behind the short story collection Drown.
A Cafecito Story by
A Cafecito Story is a story of love, coffee, birds and hope. It is a beautifully written eco-fable by best-selling author Julia Alvarez. Based on her and her husband's experiences trying to reclaim a small coffee farm in her native Dominican Republic, A Cafecito Story shows how the return to the traditional methods of shade-grown coffee can rehabilitate and rejuvenate the landscape and human culture, while at the same time preserving vital winter habitat for threatened songbirds. Not a political or environmental polemic, A Cafecito Story is instead a poetic, modern fable about human beings at their best. The challenge of producing coffee is a remarkable test of our ability to live more sustainably, caring for the land, growers, and consumers in an enlightened and just way. Written with Julia Alvarez's deft touch, this is a story that stimulates while it comforts, waking the mind and warming the soul like the first cup of morning coffee. Indeed, this story is best read with a strong cup of organic, shade-grown, fresh-brewed coffee.
The Caribbean by
Deals with both cultural and culinary aspects of the Caribbean. Includes recipes which focus on Caribbean foodstuffs generally available outside the Caribbean region.
Dominican Republic in Focus by
This is a guide to one of the most popular tourist destinations in the Caribbean, the Dominican Republic, which has much more to offer than its idyllic beaches. The site of the first European settlement in the Americas, the country has a long and often turbulent history, marked by dictators, foreign invasions and popular uprisings. For almost two centuries the country has shared the island of Hispaniola with Haiti, a proximity which had led to friction and occasional conflict. Despite efforts to abandon dependency on sugar and to modernize the economy, the Dominican Republic still faces considerable poverty and social tensions. Migration, legal and illegal, provides a lifeline to many poor communities. Yet this often difficult past and present have created one of the most distinctive and vibrant cultures in the Caribbean, where 16th-century colonial architecture contrasts with modern office blocks, and where Spanish, African and American influences are apparent in music, food and art.
Drown by
From the beloved and award-winning author Junot Díaz, a spellbinding saga of a family's journey through the New World. A coming-of-age story of unparalleled power, Drown introduced the world to Junot Díaz's exhilarating talents. It also introduced an unforgettable narrator-- Yunior, the haunted, brilliant young man who tracks his family's precarious journey from the barrios of Santo Domingo to the tenements of industrial New Jersey, and their epic passage from hope to loss to something like love. Here is the soulful, unsparing book that made Díaz a literary sensation.
The Feast of the Goat by
WINNER OF THE NOBEL PRIZE IN LITERATURE In The Feast of the Goat, this 'masterpiece of Latin American and world literature, and one of the finest political novels ever written' (Bookforum), Mario Vargas Llosa recounts the end of a regime and the birth of a terrible democracy, giving voice to the historical Trujillo and the victims, both innocent and complicit, drawn into his deadly orbit. Haunted all her life by feelings of terror and emptiness, forty-nine-year-old Urania Cabral returns to her native Dominican Republic - and finds herself reliving the events of l961, when the capital was still called Trujillo City and one old man terrorized a nation of three million. Rafael Trujillo, the depraved ailing dictator whom Dominicans call the Goat, controls his inner circle with a combination of violence and blackmail. In Trujillo's gaudy palace, treachery and cowardice have become a way of life. But Trujillo's grasp is slipping. There is a conspiracy against him, and a Machiavellian revolution already underway that will have bloody consequences of its own. "A fierce, edgy and enthralling book ... Mr. Vargas Llosa has pushed the boundaries of the traditional historical novel, and in doing so has written a book of harrowing power and lasting resonance."--The New York Times
In the Time of the Butterflies by
Celebrating its 30th anniversary in 2024, internationally bestselling author and literary icon Julia Alvarez's In the Time of the Butterflies is "beautiful, heartbreaking and alive ... a lyrical work of historical fiction based on the story of the Mirabal sisters, revolutionary heroes who had opposed and fought against Trujillo." (Concepción de León, New York Times) Don't miss Alvarez's new novel, The Cemetery of Untold Stories, available now! It is November 25, 1960, and three beautiful sisters have been found near their wrecked Jeep at the bottom of a 150-foot cliff on the north coast of the Dominican Republic. The official state newspaper reports their deaths as accidental. It does not mention that a fourth sister lives. Nor does it explain that the sisters were among the leading opponents of Gen. Rafael Leónidas Trujillo's dictatorship. It doesn't have to. Everybody knows of Las Mariposas--the Butterflies. In this extraordinary novel, the voices of all four sisters--Minerva, Patria, María Teresa, and the survivor, Dedé--speak across the decades to tell their own stories, from secret crushes to gunrunning, and to describe the everyday horrors of life under Trujillo's rule. Through the art and magic of Julia Alvarez's imagination, the martyred Butterflies live again in this novel of courage and love, and the human costs of political oppression. "Alvarez helped blaze the trail for Latina authors to break into the literary mainstream, with novels like In the Time of the Butterflies and How the García Girls Lost Their Accents winning praise from critics and gracing best-seller lists across the Americas."--Francisco Cantú, The New York Times Book Review "This Julia Alvarez classic is a must-read for anyone of Latinx descent." --Popsugar.com "A gorgeous and sensitive novel . . . A compelling story of courage, patriotism and familial devotion." --People "Shimmering . . . Valuable and necessary." --Los Angeles Times "A magnificent treasure for all cultures and all time." --St. Petersburg Times "Alvarez does a remarkable job illustrating the ruinous effect the 30-year dictatorship had on the Dominican Republic and the very real human cost it entailed."--Cosmopolitan.com
Latinísimo by
An encyclopedic cookbook (from Chiles Rellenos andTostones toGolden Coconut Chicken andDulce de Leche Tart)celebrating Latin American home cooking-the first to cover the day-to-day home cooking of all twenty-one nations-by one of the most respected authorities on the subject "As practical and day-to-day useful as it is revelatory . . . A book to treasure today and to pass on to a new generation of cooks tomorrow." -Dorie Greenspan, New York Times bestselling cookbook author In this monumental work, culinary expert Sandra A. Gutierrez shares more than three hundred everyday dishes-plus countless variations-that home cooks everywhere will want to replicate. Divided by ingredient-Beans, Corn, Yuca, Quinoa, and almost two dozen more-and featuring an extensive pantry section that establishes the fundamentals of Latin American cooking, Latinisimo brings together real recipes from home cooks in Argentina, Brazil, Belize, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Puerto Rico, Uruguay, and Venezuela. Recipes include- .Tortillas de Nixtamal (Fresh Masa Tortillas) .Arroz con Pollo (Chicken and Rice) .Arepas Clasicas (Classic Arepas) .Solterito (Lima Bean, Corn, and Tomato Salad) .Sopa Seca con Albahaca la Chinchana (One-Pot Spaghetti with Achiote and Basil) .Pastel de Tres Leches (Tres Leches Cake) And much, much more These are recipes that reflect the incredible breadth and richness of the culinary traditions of the region. Sweeping in its scope, and filled with history and stories, Latinisimo is an utterly essential resource for every kitchen.
Rhythm and Revolt by
Tales by Caribbean writers. They range from Cloud Cover Caribbean by Ana Lydia Vega, on national rivalry, to The Cow on the Rooftop by Lino Novas Calvo, in which a mother kills a son over food.
The Spice Necklace by
While sailing around the Caribbean, Ann Vanderhoof and her husband Steve track wild oregano-eating goats in the cactus-covered hills of the Dominican Republic, gather nutmegs on an old estate in Grenada, make searing-hot pepper sauce in a Trinidadian kitchen, cram for a chocolate-tasting test at the University of the West Indies, and sip moonshine straight out of hidden back-country stills. Along the way, they are befriended by a collection of unforgettable island characters: Dwight, the skin-diving fisherman who always brings them something from his catch and critiques her efforts to cook it; Greta, who harvests seamoss on St. Lucia and turns it into potent Island-Viagra; sweet-hand Pat, who dispenses hugs and impromptu dance lessons along with cooking tips in her Port of Spain kitchen. Back in her galley, Ann practices making curry like a Trini, dog sauce like a Martiniquais, and coo-coo like a Carriacouan. And for those who want to take these adventures into their own kitchens, she pulls 71 delicious recipes from the stories she tells, which she places at the end of the relevant chapters. The Spice Necklace is a wonderful escape into a life filled with sunshine (and hurricanes), delicious food, irreplaceable company, and island traditions.
Books written by my grandfather Gustavo Peña Corniel:
Barahona, sucesos y ocurrencias by
Taller, Santo Domingo, D.N., República Dominicana, 1983
Culture and Customs of el Salvador by
El Salvador, the smallest Hispanic country in the Western Hemisphere, has had a lion's share of international attention with its civil war of the 1980s. Culture and Customs of El Salvador is the best source for an authoritative, intriguing narrative overview of a country with an embattled history, from wars to devastating earthquakes. Students and general readers will find a sympathetic portrayal of the land, history, people, economy, religion, education, traditional culture and popular entertainment, literature, media, and the arts. El Salvador has been marginalized in Latin America and is still little-known outside of this region. Culture and Customs of El Salvador emphasizes the mixture of indigenous and Spanish heritage that colors the society. Boland brings special insight to the essential topics, from history to the arts. A chronology, glossary, and numerous photos enhance the text. As an up-to-date survey, the book brims with optimism for a better future with social, economic, and environmental reforms. This volume is crucial to understanding Salvadorans today and also the large numbers of Salvadoran immigrants who now live in the United States.
The SalviSoul Cookbook by
A beautifully photographed cookbook that celebrates the vibrant culture and community of El Salvador through 80 recipes and stories from twenty-five Salvadoran women. "A heartfelt tribute to heritage,a testament to the power of storytelling, and an invitation to savor the true essence of El Salvador, one delicious recipe at a time."-Hawa Hassan, James Beard Award-winning author of In Bibi's Kitchen In search of the recipes and traditions that made her feel at home, food historian and Salvadoran Karla Tatiana Vasquez took to the internet to find the dishes her mom made throughout her childhood. But when she couldn't find any, she decided to take matters into her own hands. What started as a desire to document recipes turned into sharing the joys, histories, and tribulations of the women in her life. In this collection of eighty recipes, Karla shares her conversations with moms, aunts, grandmothers, and friends to preserve their histories so that they do not go unheard.Here are recipes for Rellenos de Papa from Patricia, who remembers the Los Angeles earthquakes of the 1980s for more reasons than just fear; Flor de Izote con Huevos Revueltos, a favorite of Karla's father; as well as variations on the beloved Salvadoran Pupusa, athick masa tortilla stuffed with different combinations of pork, cheese, and beans. Though their stories vary, the women have a shared experience of what it was like in El Salvador before the war, and what life was like as Salvadoran women surviving in their new home in the United States.
Ch'orti'-Maya Survival in Eastern Guatemala by
Scholars and Guatemalans have characterized eastern Guatemala as "Ladino" or non-Indian. The Ch'orti' do not exhibit the obvious indigenous markers found among the Mayas of western Guatemala, Chiapas, and the Yucatán Peninsula of Mexico. Few still speak Ch'orti', most no longer wear distinctive dress, and most community organizations have long been abandoned. During the colonial period, the Ch'orti' region was adjacent to relatively vibrant economic regions of Central America that included major trade routes, mines, and dye plantations. In the twentieth century Ch'orti's directly experienced U.S.-backed dictatorships, a 36-year civil war from start to finish, and Christian evangelization campaigns, all while their population has increased exponentially. These have had tremendous impacts on Ch'orti' identities and cultures. From 1991 to 1993, Brent Metz lived in three Ch'orti' Maya-speaking communities, learning the language, conducting household surveys, and interviewing informants. He found Ch'orti's to be ashamed of their indigeneity, and he was fortunate to be present and involved when many Ch'orti's joined the Maya Movement. He has continued to expand his ethnographic research of the Ch'orti' annually ever since and has witnessed how Ch'orti's are reformulating their history and identity.
False Tongues and Sunday Bread by
The Maya--the Indians who inhabited part of Mexico and Central America in pre-Hispanic times--left the modern world a legacy of remarkable cooking that is still practiced in cliffside huts and middle-class haciendas. Copeland Marks has traveled widely throughout Guatemala and other countries that carry the Mayan heritage, in order to introduce us to the everyday pleasures of this little-known cuisine. For anyone who loves the taste of tamales, tortillas, and pungent sauces, this book will provide a rich adventure that begins with--but goes far beyond--those staples of the corn kitchen. The recipes reveal a delightful and accessible cuisine that, in addition to showcasing traditional Mayan flavor profiles, combines culinary ideas from India, Africa, the Caribbean, Great Britain and Spain.
Guatemaltecas by
After thirty years of military rule and state-sponsored violence, Guatemala reinstated civilian control and began rebuilding democratic institutions in 1986. Responding to these changes, Guatemalan women began organizing to gain an active role in the national body politic and restructure traditional relations of power and gender. This pioneering study examines the formation and evolution of the Guatemalan women's movement and assesses how it has been affected by, and has in turn affected, the forces of democratization and globalization that have transformed much of the developing world. Susan Berger pursues three hypotheses in her study of the women's movement. She argues that neoliberal democratization has led to the institutionalization of the women's movement and has encouraged it to turn from protest politics to policy work and to helping the state impose its neoliberal agenda. She also asserts that, while the influences of dominant global discourses are apparent, local definitions of femininity, sexuality, and gender equity and rights have been critical to shaping the form, content, and objectives of the women's movement in Guatemala. And she identifies a counter-discourse to globalization that is slowly emerging within the movement. Berger's findings vigorously reveal the manifold complexities that have attended the development of the Guatemalan women's movement.
Mayan Folktales by
This collection of folklore offers a rich and lively panorama of Mayan mythic heritage. Here are everyday tales of village life; legends of witches, shamans, spiritualists, tricksters, and devils; fables of naguales, or persons who can change into animal forms; ribald stories of love and life; cautionary tales of strange and menacing neighbors and of the danger lurking within the human heart. These legends narrate origin and creation stories, explain the natural world, and reinforce cultural beliefs and values such as honesty, industriousness, sharing, fairness, and cleverness. Whether tragic or comic, fantastic or earthy, whimsical or profound, these tales capture the mystery, fragility, and power of the Mayan world.
Remarkable Remains of the Ancient Peoples of Guatemala by 
K'oben: 3,000 years of the Maya hearth by
K'Oben traces the Maya kitchen and its associated hardware, ingredients, and cooking styles from the earliest times for which we have archaeological evidence through today's culinary tourism in the area. It focuses not only on what was eaten and how it was cooked, but the people involved: who grew or sourced the foods, who cooked them, who ate them. Additionally, the authors examine how Maya foodways and the people involved fit into the social system, particularly in how food is incorporated into culture, economy, and society. The authors provide a detailed literature review of hard-to-find sources including: out of print centuries old cookbooks, archaeological field notes, ethnographies and ethnohistories out of circulation and not available in English, thesis documents only available in Spanish and in university archives as well as current field research on the Maya. The more recent Maya foodways can be studied from cookbooks, ethnographies and ethnohistorical documentation. Between the two of us, we have assembled a small but representative collection of cookbooks, some self-published and rare, that were available in Merida and elsewhere in Mexico during the late 20th century. Some are quite old, and all reflect local traditional foodways. Geographically, the book concentrates on Yucatan, Tabasco and Chiapas in Mexico, but will include Pre-Classic and Classic evidence from Guatemala and El Salvador, whose foodways are influenced by Maya traditions.
The Latin American Cookbook by
"This incredible cookbook is truly extraordinary" - Gordon Ramsay "An epic tribute to the many beautiful cultures and communities of Latin America" - José Andrés A Travel + Leisure Best Fall 2021 Cookbook The most comprehensive and varied selection of recipes ever published from one of the most fascinating and diverse regions of the world - under the tutelage of globally renowned Peruvian chef, Virgilio Martínez Rarely has the incredible range of cuisines from Mexico's tropical coasts to the icy islands at the foot of South America been documented as comprehensively as in this collection. Global star chef and Peruvian sensation Virgilio Martínez curates, with a personal deep dive into each region's food culture, culinary delicacies, and local ingredients. The result: more than 600 remarkable recipes that bring to life the vibrancy of Latin America and its myriad influences - indigenous, European, Asian, and beyond. Discover traditional and popular recipes for home cooks from Argentina, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, and Venezuela, with dishes ranging from iconic - Empanadas, Tamales, Arepas, Tortillas, Quesadillas, and Tacos - to lesser-known specialties - Chilean Disco Fries, Nicaraguan Squash Stew, and Ecuadorian Easter Soup.
Maya Medicine by
This account of the practice of traditional Maya medicine examines the work of curers in Pisté, Mexico, a small town in the Yucatán Peninsula near the ruins of Chichén Itzá. The traditions of plant use and ethnomedicine applied by these healers have been transmitted from one generation to the next since the colonial period throughout the state of Yucatán and the adjoining states of Campeche and Quintana Roo. In addition to plants, traditional healers use western medicine and traditional rituals that include magical elements, for curing in Yucatán is at once deeply spiritual and empirically oriented, addressing problems of the body, spirit, and mind. Curers either learn from elders or are recruited through revelatory dreams. The men who learn their skills through dreams communicate with supernatural beings by means of divining stones and crystals. Some of the locals acknowledge their medical skills; some disparage them as rustics or vilify them as witches. The curer may act as a doctor, priest, and psychiatrist. This book traces the entire process of curing. The author collected plants with traditional healers and observed their techniques including prayer and massage as well as plant medicine, western medicine, and ritual practices. Plant medicine, she found, was the common denominator, and her book includes information on the plants she worked with and studied.
Los chiles rellenos en México : antología de recetas = Stuffed chiles of Mexico : an anthology of recipes. by 
Mezcalaria : cultura del mezcal = Mezcalaria : the cult of Mezcal by 
My Mexico City Kitchen by
The innovative chef and culinary trend-setter named one ofTime's 100 most influential people in the world shares 150 recipes for her vibrant, simple, and sophisticated contemporary Mexican cooking. IACP AWARD FINALIST . ART OF EATING PRIZE LONGLIST . NAMED ONE OF THE BEST COOKBOOKS OF THE SEASON BYThe New York Times.Bon Appetit.San Francisco Chronicle . Chicago Tribune Inspired by the flavors, ingredients, and flair of culinary and cultural hotspot Mexico City, Gabriela Camara's style of fresh-first, vegetable-forward, legume-loving, and seafood-centric Mexican cooking is a siren call to home cooks who crave authentic, on-trend recipes they can make with confidence and regularity. With 150 recipes for Basicos (basics), Desayunos (breakfasts), Primeros (starters), Platos Fuertos (mains), and Postres (sweets), Mexican food-lovers will find all the dishes they want to cook-from Chilaquiles Verdes to Chiles Rellenos and Flan de Cajeta-and will discover many sure-to-be favorites, such as her signature tuna tostadas. More than 150 arresting images capture the rich culture that infuses Camara's food and a dozen essays detail the principles that distinguish her cooking, from why non-GMO corn matters to how everything can be a taco. With celebrated restaurants in Mexico City and San Francisco, Camara is the most internationally recognized figure in Mexican cuisine, and her innovative, simple Mexican food is exactly what home cooks want to cook.
QUINTONIL: FOOD AS AN AGENT OF CHANGE by
Quintonil. Food as an agent of change Quintonil’s ongoing project through its nine years of operations and evolution within the Mexican culinary context. In this book, you will find some of the most iconic recipes in the life of a restaurant, along with essays by prominent chefs and authors that reflect on cooking, traditions, Mexico’s diversity and its impact on Quintonil´s journey.
Teotihuacán by
An investigation of the ruins of the ancient Mexican city and cultural center and the people who created and mysteriously abandoned it, with over 140 illustrations, more than a third in full color.
Tequila by
Long considered a lowbrow liquor, tequila today is becoming one of the most popular beverages, and its wide appeal is decidedly upscale. An entire tequila culture has developed, not only throughout Mexico but in sophisticated restaurants and bars worldwide, from New York to Los Angeles, London to Tokyo.Despite this trend, little has been published about tequila and its origins, varieties, and method of production -- until now. In this delightfully visual book author Enrique Martinez Limon takes the reader on a fascinating anecdotal journey through the history of tequila, complete with information about how it is grown and produced, and descriptions of its legends, heroes, songs, and artistic manifestations. The lively text is enhanced by Michael Calderwood's beautiful photography and the specially commissioned artwork.The final chapters provide recipes for tequila-based cocktails and for dishes using tequila, as well as professional ratings of more than a hundred brands.
Women in Mexico by
Throughout Mexico's history, women have been subjected to a dual standard: exalted in myth, they remain subordinated in their social role by their biology. But this dualism is not so much a battle between the sexes as the product of a social system. The injustices of this system have led Mexican women to conclude that they deserve a better world, one worth struggling for. Published originally in Spanish as Mujeres en México: Una historia olvidada, this work examines the role of Mexican women from pre-Cortés to the 1980s, addressing the interplay between myth and history and the gap between theory and practice. Pointing to such varied prototypes as the Virgin of Guadalupe, La Malinche, and Sor Juana, Tuñón contrasts what these women represent with more realistic but less-exalted counterparts such as Josefa Ortiz de Domínguez, La Güera Rodríguez, and Juana Belén Gutiérrez de Mendoza. She also discusses the identity transformation by which indigenous women come to see themselves as Mexicanas, and analyzes such issues as women's economic dislocation in the labor force, education, and self-image. In challenging the illusion that historians have created of women in Mexico's history, Tuñón hopes to recover feminism--with its strengths and weaknesses, its vision of the world that is both intellectual and full of feeling. By examining the social world of Mexico, she also hopes to determine those situations that cause oppression, exploitation, and marginalization of women.
Brazilian Food by
Brazil is a nation of vast expanses and enormous variation from geography and climate to cultures and languages. Within these boundaries are definable regions in which certain customs, history, and shared views help define an identity and cohesion. In many cases, the pattern of settlement and immigration has influenced the culinary culture of Brazil. This book explores the role that food and cuisine play in the construction of identity on both the regional and national levels in Brazil through key case examples. It explores the way in which food has become an important element in attracting tourists to a region as well as a way of making aspects of a culture known beyond its borders as cookbooks, ingredients and restaurants move outward in our globalized world.
The Brazilian People by
This is the first English-language translation of the controversial bestseller "O Povo Brasileiro" by Darcy Ribeiro, one of Brazil's leading 20th-century intellectuals.
The Brazilians by
A country warmly hospitable and surprisingly violent, physically beautiful, yet appallingly poor--these are the contrasts Joseph Page explores in The Brazilians, a monumental book on one of the most colorful and paradoxical places on earth.Once one of the strongest market economies in the world, Brazil now struggles to emerge from a deep economic and social crisis, the latest and deepest nose-dive in a giddy roller-coaster ride that Brazilians have experienced over the past three decades. Page examines Brazil in the context of this current crisis and the events leading up to it. In so doing, he reveals the unique character of the Brazilian people and how this national character has brought the country to where it is today--teetering on the verge of joining the First World, or plunging into unprecedented environmental calamity and social upheaval. Not since Luigi Barzini's The Italians has a society been so deeply and accurately portrayed.
The Brazilian Sound by
This title includes discussions of developments in samba and other key genres, the rise of female singer-songwriters, works by established artists like Milton Nascimento and Gilberto Gil and the mixing of bossa with electronica.
The Brazilian Table by
The Brazilian Table was a Julia Child First Book Award finalist and a finalist for the Gourmand International Cookbook Award. Brazil--exotic, sensual, mysterious--mingles pleasure with high energy, and its cuisine is no different. The recipes of The Brazilian Table frequently blend the native ingredients of manioc, cachaça, pequi, hearts of palm, and Dendê palm oil with the rich cultures of Portugal, Africa, Japan, the Middle East, and that of the indigenous population to create complex tastes that define this region of the world. A sample of the extraordinary cuisine includes Tucupi Duck Soup, Fish Paupiette with Crabmeat Brazilian-Style, Papaya Galette, Chicken Xim-Xim, Coconut Custard Bahía Way, Giló Puff Pastry Tart, and Guava Paste Soufflé. Authored by master chef Yara Castro Roberts-one of Brazil's most forthright advocates of its lifestyle and cuisine, this intimate look at the regions of Minas Gerais, the Amazon, the Cerado, and the Bahías from a food perspective not only introduces one hundred delicious recipes but also provides an in-depth cultural lesson on the regions and their unique foods. Chef Yara Roberts is well known in the arena of international chefs. She graduated from Boston University School of Culinary Arts and holds degrees from the Sorbonne and the École du Louvre. She taught at the Brazilian Academy of Cooking before moving to Paraty, Brazil, where she operates the Academy of Cooking and Other Pleasures with her photographer husband, Richard Barclay Roberts.
Brazil in Focus by
Brazil is depicted as a land of global superlatives, boasting the best football, the largest rainforest, and the world's worst social and economic inequality. It's vibrant culture is best known for Carnival and samba and attracts thousands of visitors each year. The Carnival capital of Rio also showcases Brazil's contrasts, as the shanty towns of the dispossesed cling to the mountainsides overlooking the beach playgrounds of the rich.Brazil In Focus is an authorative and up-to-date guide to the giant of Latin America. It explores: - The history: Slavery and the sugar economy as a Portuguese colony; the dictatorship of Getúlio Vargas; the military government from 1964-85 and the return to democracy.- The people: The "social apartheid" of extreme inequality; discrimination against Afro-Brazilian and Indians; the women's movement; street children and child labor; Christian and African religions.- The politics: Political parties and the government of Fernando Henrique Cardoso; the popular movements of the shanty towns and peasant villages.- The economy: Brazil's historical role as a supplier of raw materials to the rich nations of the North; Industrialization after the Second World War; the debt of the 1980s; economic policy under President Cardoso.- The Amazon and the environment: Myths and legends of the Amazon; economic development and its impact on the environment; urban pollution. - The culture: Carnival and samba; Brazilian literature, cinema and architecture; soccer; gambling; the mass media and food.- Where to go and what to see: Must-see landmarks and historical sites as well as the authors expert tips on how to get the most out of a brief visit.Brazil In Focus is one on a series of guides covering the countries of South and Central America and the Caribbean.
The Club of Angels by
Luis Fernando Verissimo's Club of Angels is an irresistible, enticing book -- almost as irresistible and enticing as the exquisite meals prepared within -- about the sin of gluttony. Written by one of Brazil's leading authors and columnists, Club of Angels was an immediate success there, and has been on the bestseller list since 1998. It tells the story of ten privileged men, who meet every month to dine fabulously and celebrate their friendship and singularity. When their leader, Ramos, dies of AIDS, the narrator Daniel meets his possible replacement -- Lucido -- in a wineshop. Lucido is mysteriously taciturn, but in the privacy of Daniel's kitchen, he recreates the men's favorite dishes, giving them a gastronomic experience like no other. The tale of bewilderment and death that follows creates an unforgettable literary experience. It is tinged with funny characters, witty dialogue, touching with mordant satire on all segments of Brazilian society. Club of Angels has been translated into Englishby the renowned Margaret Jull Costa (translator of Jose Saramago, Paulo Coelho, Javier Marias, and Arturo Perez-Reverte).
Culture and Customs of Brazil by
Race, religion, language, culture, and national character are full of contradictions. Brazil, the largest country in South America, embodies so much paradox that it defies neat description. This book will help students and general readers dispel stereotypes of Brazil and begin to understand what country's bigness means in terms of its land, people, history, society, and cultural expressions. This is the only authoritative yet accessible volume on Brazil that surveys a wide range of important topics, from geography, to social customs, art, architecture, and more. Highlights include discussions of the fluid definitions of race, rituals of candomble, the importance of extended family networks, beach culture, and soccer madness. A chronology and glossary supplement the text.
Dona Flor and Her Two Husbands by
It surprises no one that the charming but wayward Vadinho dos Guimaraes-a gambler notorious for never winning--dies during Carnival. His long suffering widow Dona Flor devotes herself to her cooking school and her friends, who urge her to remarry. She is soon drawn to a kind pharmacist who is everything Vadinho was not, and is altogether happy to marry him. But after her wedding she finds herself dreaming about her first husband's amorous attentions; and one evening Vadinho himself appears by her bed, as lusty as ever, to claim his marital rights.
Flavors from Brazil. by
Journal, Magazine
Recipe booklet inside back cover
Gabriela, Clove and Cinnamon by
Ilhéus in 1925 is a booming town with a record cacao crop and aspirations for progress, but the traditional ways prevail. When Colonel Mendonça discovers his wife in bed with a lover, he shoots and kills them both. Political contests, too, can be settled by gunshot... No one imagines that a bedraggled migrant worker who turns up in town–least of all Gabriela herself–will be the agent of change. Nacib Saad has just lost the cook at his popular café and in desperation hires Gabriela. To his surprise she turns out to be a great beauty as well as a wonderful cook and an enchanting boon to his business. But what would people say if Nacib were to marry her? Lusty, satirical and full of intrigue, Gabriela, Clove and Cinnamon is a vastly entertaining panorama of small town Brazilian life.
Little Brazil by
Walking west on 46th Street in Manhattan, just three blocks from Rockefeller Center, one passes Brazilian restaurants, the office of New York's Brazilian newspaper, a Brazilian travel agency, a business that sends remittances and wires flowers to Brazil, and a store that sells Brazilian food products, magazines, newspapers, videos, and tapes. These businesses are the tip of an ethnic iceberg, an unseen minority estimated to number some 80,000 to 100,000 Brazilians in the New York metropolitan area alone. Despite their numbers, the lives of these people remain largely hidden to scholars and the public alike. Now Maxine L. Margolis remedies this neglect with a fascinating and accessible account of the lives of New York's Brazilians. Showing that these immigrants belie American stereotypes, Margolis reveals that they are largely from the middle strata of Brazilian society: many, in fact, have university educations. Not driven by dire poverty or political repression, they are fleeing from chaotic economic conditions that prevent them from maintaining amiddle-class standard of living in Brazil. But despite their class origin and education, with little English and no work papers, many are forced to take menial jobs after their arrival in the United States. Little Brazil is not an insentient statistical portrait of this population writ large, but a nuanced account that captures what it is like to be a new immigrant in this most cosmopolitan of world cities.
Rio de Janeiro by
From fish soup to caipirinha, the culinary traditions of Rio de Janeiro come alive in this rich and sumptuous tour of its people and the foods they cook, eat, love, and enjoy. In the last four centuries of its history, the inhabitants of Rio de Janeiro created a lifestyle that is unique and has been much admired since the very first travelers published their impressions in the sixteenth century. Indeed, this international hot spot welcomes approximately 1.8 million tourists every year who come to the city to visit, to work, to study, and to eat. It was and it is a place of cultural and artistic creativity, and it has largely kept concealed one of its most interesting cultural traits: its food. Rio de Janeiro: A Food Biography unveils the high quality and variety of Rio's fresh produce, the special dishes served in parties or at home, and the very traditional ones inherited from the immigrants who made the culture of the city as varied as its food. Starting with a history of the city and its native plants and animals, Marcia Zoladz offers a rich and sumptuous tour of the culture, the people, and the foods they cook, dine on, love, and enjoy. From fish soup to caipirinha, the culinary traditions come alive through an exploration of the festivals, the people, the places, and the hot-spots that continue to draw people from around the world to this world-class destination.
The Scent of a Dream by
In this remarkable visual survey, internationally acclaimed photographer Sebasti\u00e3o Salgado documents traditional methods of sustainable coffee farming across the globe, revealing rituals deeply steeped in history and pride. The book spans nearly a decade of research into the hidden world of coffee, highlighting relationships characterized by respect, fair exchange, and a shared understanding that ever-improving quality has the power to improve lives. Salgado, a native to one of Brazil's premier coffee-growing regions, is the perfect guide for a reader's journey to principal farming locations in China, Colombia, Guatemala, Ethiopia, India, Brazil, Costa Rica, and beyond.
A Taste of Brasil by
Over 70 recipes from the cooking Brazilian television program that has run for over 40 years.
Tasting Brazil by
Brazil: a culinary history -- A regional look at Brazil's culinary heritage -- Brazilian market baset -- Salgadinhos: appetizers -- Temperos e acompanhamentos: condiments and accompaniments -- Sopas e saladas: soups and salads -- Verduras, legumes, e fécula: vegetables and starches -- Carnes e frangos: meat and poultry -- Peixes e frutos do mar: fish and seafood -- Doces e bolos: sweets and desserts -- Bebidas: beverages -- Um gosto do Brasil: a taste of Brazil -- Mail-order sources.
The Oxford Book of Latin American Short Stories by
When Latin American writers burst onto the world literary scene in the now famous "Boom" of the sixties, it seemed as if an entire literature had invented itself over night out of thin air. Not only was the writing extraordinary but its sudden and spectacular appearance itself seemed magical. In fact, Latin American literature has a long and rich tradition that reaches back to the Colonial period and is filled with remarkable writers too little known in the English-speaking world. The short story has been a central part of this tradition, from Fray Bartolome de las Casas' narrative protests against the Spanish Conquistadors' abuses of Indians, to the world renowned Ficciones of Jorge Luis Borges, to the contemporary works of such masters as Carlos Fuentes, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Rosario Ferre, and others. Now, in The Oxford Book of Latin American Short Stories, editor Roberto Gonzalez Echevarria brings together fifty-three stories that span the history of Latin American literature and represent the most dazzling achievements in the form. In his fascinating introduction, Gonzalez Echevarria traces the evolution of the short story in Latin American literature, explaining why the genre has flourished there with such brilliance, and illuminating the various cultural and literary tensions that resolve themselves in "magical realism." The stories themselves exhibit all the inventiveness, the luxuriousness of language, the wild metaphoric leaps and uncanny conjunctions of the ordinary with the fantastic that have given the Latin American short story its distinctive and unforgettable flavor: From the Joycean subtlety of Machado de Assis's "Midnight Mass," to the brutal parable of Julio Ramon Ribeyro's "Featherless Buzzards," to the startling disorientation of Alejo Carpentier's "Journey Back to the Source," (which is told backwards, because a sorcerer has waved his wand and made time flow in reverse), to the haunting reveries of Maria Luisa Bombal's "The Tree." Readers familiar with only the most popular Latin American writers will be delighted to discover many exciting new voices here, including Catalina de Erauso, Ricardo Palma, Rubin Dario, Augusto Roa Bastos, Christina Peri Rossi, along with Borges, Garcia Marquez, Fuentes, Cortazar, Vargas Llosa, and many others. Gonzalez Echevarria also provides brief and extremely helpful headnotes for the each selection, discussing the author's influences, major works, and central themes. Short story lovers will find a wealth of satisfactions here, in terrains both familiar and uncharted. But the unique strength of The Oxford Book of Latin American Short Stories is that it allows us to see the connections between writers from Peru to Puerto Rico and from the sixteenth century to the present--and thus to view in a single, unprecedented volume one of the most diverse and fertile literary landscapes in the world.
Rice and Beans by
Rice and Beans is a book about the paradox of local and global. On the one hand, this is a globe-spanning dish, a simple source of complete nutrition for billions of people in hundreds of countries. On the other hand, in every place people insist that rice and beans is a local invention, deeply rooted in a particular history and culture. How can something so universal also be so particular? The authors of this book explore the specific history of the versions of rice and beans beloved and indigenous in cultures from Brazil to West Africa. But they also plumb the shared African, Native American and European trans-Atlantic encounters and exchanges, and the contemporary forces of globalization and nation-building, which combine to make rice and beans a powerful substance and symbol of the relationship between food and culture.
The Culinary Institute of America | Conrad N. Hilton Library | 1946 Campus Drive | Hyde Park, NY 12538-1430
Telephone: 845-451-1747 | Email: library@culinary.edu
