Alpha Teach Yourself American Sign Language in 24 Hours
by
A guide to the fourth most-commonly used language in the U.S. From the Alpha Teach Yourself series comes this self-paced, step-by-step approach to learning ASL. It teaches readers the unique syntax and grammar, the signs themselves, and the just-as-important subtle facial expressions and body movements.
The American Sign Language Handshape Starter
by
Beginning signers now can improve their recognition of the most commonly used signs with this easy-to-follow handbook. The American Sign Language Handshape Starter illustrates 800 of the most frequently used signs, arranging them by the 40 standard handshapes used in American Sign Language (ASL). Carefully chosen for their common use, the signs also have been organized by day-to-day topics, including food, travel, family, sports, clothing, school terms, time, nature and animals, and many others from everyday conversation. The American Sign Language Handshape Starter begins with a confidence-building introduction to ASL use and structure, and tips on basic signing. It also provides a simple guide to finding signs that are either new or familiar to learn their meanings. With the Handshape Starter, new signers, their teachers, and their parents will find improvement in ASL to be faster and even more enjoyable.
Signing in Fourteen Languages
by
Signing in Fourteen Languages is an invaluable guide to mastering and communicating in American Sign Language around the globe. A detailed line drawing clearly indicates how to sign each word and is accompanied by the same word translated into the following languages: Arabic, Chinese, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish and Swedish. A convenient cross-indexing feature makes it easy to find the appropriate sign language gesture using any of the languages without having to translate the word. Finger-spelling charts for both American Sign Language and International Sign Language enable readers to spell out uncommon words and names. With the rapid advances in communication and transportation technology the world is becoming smaller and more interconnected, and Signing in Fourteen Languages advances the cause allowing people from around the world to communicate with the hearing impaired. It is an easy-to-use and indispensable reference work--unique in its breadth of world languages--for businesses, libraries, international organizations, language training centers, government agencies and anyone who is hearing impaired or who interacts with the hearing impaired.
Integrated Chinese 1/2 Textbook Simplified Characters
by
Cheng & Tsui's best-loved Chinese textbook series is new, revised, and better than ever!
Integrated Chinese
by
Cheng & Tsui's best-loved Chinese textbook series is new, revised, and better than ever!
English Grammar for Students of French
by
IELTS - Academic Module (Book - 1)
by
IELTS TECH - ACADEMIC MODULE is a smart techno product for the students who are competing for the IELTS -The International English Language Testing System. This book is a complete visual aid for the students and teaches them the perfect strategy to crack IELTS. It also serves as a smarter way to learn IELTS. The book is an outcome of incessant hard work and research by an experienced and veteran author in this field. Basically, the book is 4 in 1 with a wholesome package of Reading, Writing, Listening and Speaking Skills and Strategies along with Smart CD Presentation with its Practice Sessions. The uniqueness of the book lies in the fact that you get everything on IELTS in this single book- making it a Bible for the students aspiring to compete the IELTS exams. #v&spublishers
Ve Focus Gr. (3) 3e Teacher's Guide 189987
by
The Teacher's Manual contains a variety of suggestions and information to enrich the material in the Student Book. It includes general teaching suggestions for each section of a typical unit, answers to frequently asked questions, unit-by-unit teaching tips with ideas for further communicative practice, and a supplementary listening activity section. Answers to the Student Book exercises and audioscripts of the listening activities are found at the back of the Teacher's Manual. Also included in the Teacher's Manual is a CD-ROM that includes PowerPoint presentations that offer alternative ways of presenting selected grammar structures. Focus on Grammar helps students understand and practice English grammar through contextualized listening, speaking, reading, and writing activities. Focus on Grammar combines controlled and communicative practice with critical thinking skills and ongoing assessment.
French for Oral and Written Review
by
This text is designed to review all the common elements of French grammar, both orally and in written French. Numerous all-French exercises are provided, in addition to English-to-French translations of various French phrases.
French in Action
by
This new edition allows instructors to select from a wide variety of tools. More than two hundred new documents, both textual and visual, have been added to the textbook, along with many new drawings.
French Reference Grammar
by
Advanced This self-contained reference grammar is an ideal self-study aid for advanced students of French. - Classroom-tested in advanced French grammar and composition courses. The text incorporates practical comments and advice from students and teachers. - Attention is given to the grammatical differences between French and English. This is a valuable tool for students attempting to master French.
French Verbs
by
Hands-on exercises help you boost your verb proficiency Get the hang of French verbs and get over verb hang-ups! French verbs can drive anyone crazy who's trying to keep track of all the regular and irregular types. Fortunately, this book is here to help you make sense of confusing rules and drill you on the exceptions. Each chapter is packed with examples, exercises, and conjugation charts - just what you need to master even the toughest French verbs. Discover how to Review regular verbs in the present tense Cope with common exceptions Conjugate all simple tenses, from present indicative to past subjunctive Tackle the trickiest irregular verbs Conjugate compound tenses
Promenades : à travers le monde francophone
by
Side by Side
by
The efficient, at-a-glance format of this handy reference places explanations of the essential elements of French grammar alongside their English-language equivalents. The lessons in "Side by Side French & English Grammar clearly explain functions and uses of the different parts of speech and include abundant examples. Because the vocabulary is limited to frequently used words, you can concentrate more on a sentence's structure instead of becoming tangled in its meaning. A "Quick Check" section that summarizes main ideas in each section and helps you retain the most important information.
Student Tape for Thèmes
by
Listening comprehension reinforcement of structures and vocabulary; improving pronunciation.
German All-In-One for Dummies, with CD
by
Learn to speak German? Easy. German All-in-One For Dummies conveniently combines titles from the German Dummies library into one handy guide that covers all of the bases of the German language. For those looking to master fluency in this popular language, this book and CD combo are an efficient and logical choice. German All-in-One For Dummies brings together content from German For Dummies, 2nd Edition, German For Dummies Audio Set, German Phrases For Dummies, Intermediate German For Dummies, and German Essentials For Dummies. ?Plus, it includes a new CD that allows for even more opportunities to practice speaking the language, as well as additional content on grammar and usage to empower you to use and speak German like a native. Offers instruction and practice exercises for both speaking and writing German Helps you prepare to demonstrate proficiency in conversational German If you want to improve your German, whether it's for work, travel, or enjoyment, German All-in-One For Dummies has you covered.
Hammer's German Grammar and Usage
by
Long trusted as the most comprehensive, up-to-date and user-friendly grammar available, Hammer's German Grammar provides you with a complete guide to German as it is written and spoken today. In a new layout to enable better referencing, this new edition includes: concise descriptions of the main grammatical phenomena of German and their use examples of grammar taken from contemporary German, helping you to understand the underlying grammatical principles more quickly invaluable guidance on pronunciation and the German accent discussion of new words from English roots, helping you to communicate in German as Germans do today clarification on the spelling reform and current spellings of German, thus increasing your confidence while writing and reading in German. Praised for its lucid explanations, this new edition distinguishes the most common forms of usage, both formal and informal. Hammer's German Grammar also offers you a combination of reference grammar and manual of current usage that you will find invaluable, whether a student or a teacher, at intermediate or advanced level.
Teach Yourself German Verbs
by
Dieci Uomini e Donne Illustri
by
Italian Verbs for Dummies
by
A step-by-step guide to grasping the basics of Italian verbs Over 66 million people around the world speak Italian, and Italian remains a popular choice for American students studying a foreign language. Italian Verbs For Dummies is ideal for those who have a basic knowledge of Italian but wish to improve their fluency by mastering the nuances of Italian verbs. This plain-English guide provides coverage of basic sentence structure, moods, tenses, and regular and irregular verbs, along with exercises to make conjugating Italian verbs a snap. It can also serve as a supplementary resource for students to use alongside classroom books. Teresa L. Picarazzi (Fairfield, CT) is currently Adjunct Professor of Italian at Fairfield University and a full-time Italian teacher at Trumbull High School.
New Italian espresso : beginner and pre-intermediate: Italian course for English speakers - Workbook
by
Japanese
by
This comprehensive introduction to the Japanese language consists of six parts. Following the introductory section, it explores the Japanese lexicon, grammatical foundations, major clause types, clause linkage, and language usage. The discussion of formal and structural properties of Japanese such as sound structure, vocabulary and grammar assist readers as they gain insight into historical and sociocultural aspects of Japanese; some are compared with those of English-speaking nations. An ideal choice for instructors, the book includes twenty-eight chapters, sufficient for approximately ninety hours of hands-on instruction. Each topic has been rigorously selected based on the author's experience of more than two decades teaching Japanese linguistics. The book's breadth and depth make it highly appropriate for learners of the Japanese language, for linguistics students interested in Japanese, and for researchers interested in Japanese linguistics. Online resources include exercises and supplementary multimedia materials to enhance the reader's comprehension and enjoyment.
Japanese from Zero! 1
by
Japanese From Zero! is an innovative and integrated approach to learning Japanese that has been used successfully for over 25 years by students all over the world. Written for students of every level and background, Japanese From Zero! is the perfect course for both beginners wanting to learn Japanese as well as current students of Japanese.
Japanese Stories for Language Learners
by
A great story can lead a reader on a journey of discovery#8212;especially if it's presented in two languages! Beautifully illustrated in a traditional style, Japanese Stories for Language Learners offers five compelling stories with English and Japanese language versions appearing on facing pages. Taking learners on an exciting cultural and linguistic journey, each story is followed by detailed translator's notes, Japanese vocabulary lists, and grammar points along with a set of discussion questions and exercises. The first two stories are very famous traditional Japanese folktales: Urashima Taro (Tale of a Fisherman) and Yuki Onna (The Snow Woman). These are followed by three short stories by notable 20th century authors: Kumo no Ito (The Spider's Thread) by Akutagawa Ryunosuke (1892-1927) Oborekaketa Kyodai (The Siblings Who Almost Drowned) by Arishima Takeo (1878-1923) Serohiki no Goshu (Gauche the Cellist) by Miyazawa Kenji (1896-1933) Reading these stories in the original Japanese script--and hearing native-speakers read them aloud in the accompanying free audio recording--helps students at every level deepen their comprehension of the beauty and subtlety of the Japanese language. Learn Japanese the fun way#8212;through the country's rich literary history. All audio content is alternatively accessible on the Tuttle Publishing website.
Imagina : español sin barreras : curso intermedio de lengua española
by
Side by Side Spanish and English Grammar
by
Intermediate The efficient at-a-glance format of this handy reference places explanations of the essential elements of Spanish grammar alongside their English-language equivalents. The standard format in each section introduces the part of speech, provides examples of its use, and then answers the most frequently asked questions about it. - A systematic, comparative approach. Facilitates students' understanding of forms and structures in both languages and allows students to build on what they already know. - Lessons organized by parts of speech explain functions and uses in clear language with abundant examples. Students focus on and thoroughly understand each grammar concept - while learning the grammar of their own language! - Vocabulary limited to frequently used words. Helps intermediate students concentrate more on structure. - Quick Check summarizes main ideas in each section and provides models. Helps students retain the most important information.
Spanish for Reading
by
A unique approach to Spanish reading comprehension, Spanish for Reading can be used as a textbook supplement in classrooms or by anybody who is teaching himself Spanish. It begins by demonstrating similarities between words and parts of words in Spanish and English, and proceeds to offer practical instruction that will help readers broaden recognition of words and phrases. Each of the book's fifteen chapters concludes with a reading passage, the first of them quite easy to comprehend, and successive passages increasingly complex and sophisticated. Early passages are simple essays on Spain's and the Spanish-speaking world's language, geography, and culture. Later passages are excerpts from well-known works by world renowned Spanish writers, including Jorge Luis Borges, Pablo Neruda, and Gabriel Garcia-Marquez. Students who use this volume methodically will ultimately be reading and understanding these passages in their original, unedited Spanish, without need to seek outside help. Short of spending time in Spain or Latin America, here is as good an introduction to Spanish culture as a student will be able to find anywhere. Photos and line drawings.
Spanish Verbs Made Simple(r)
by
It's time for a new approach to learning Spanish verbs. Unlike popular verb guides that require the rote memorization of hundreds of verb forms, this book clearly explains the rules that govern the conjugation of all classes of Spanish verbs--especially the irregular ones that give second-language learners the most trouble. These simple, easy-to-understand rules for conjugating Spanish verbs are effective learning tools for both beginning students and more advanced speakers who want to perfect their usage of Spanish verb forms. Spanish Verbs Made Simple(r) has many helpful features that you won't find in any other verb guide: Clear explanations of all verb tenses and forms. The simple rules that govern the conjugation of all verbs--including the 90% of irregular verbs whose irregularities are entirely predictable. A detailed discussion of how each verb form is used, with numerous examples. A full explanation of the distinction between ser and estar--the single most confusing element in the Spanish verbal system. An extended treatment of the subjunctive that will help you understand why it is used in some situations but not others. Conjugations for 35 model Spanish verbs and a comprehensive listing of 4,800 verbs that indicates which of the models each verb follows. Going well beyond any other guide in the clarity and detail of its explanations--as well as the innovative manner in which individual verbs are linked to model conjugations--Spanish Verbs Made Simple(r) is the only guide to Spanish verbs a learner needs.
The Culinary Institute of America | Conrad N. Hilton Library | 1946 Campus Drive | Hyde Park, NY 12538-1430
Telephone: 845-451-1747 | Email: library@culinary.edu