Resources for Faculty

Electronic resources provided by the Library are accessible from off-campus using EZproxy authentication software (learn more from OCLC.)  

When patrons link to a database, ebook or ejournal, they are prompted to enter their username & password, which is the same CIA single login used for email, Moodle and MainMenu.

To create a link to a resource enabling EZproxy, we attach a prefix to the url of the website.

The CIA EZproxy prefix is:

http://ciachef.idm.oclc.org/login?url=

For example:

To create a link to the EBSCO eBooks Collection, take the URL for the database:

http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=nlebk

Place the EZproxy prefix in front of the URL:

http://ciachef.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=nlebk

Then add that URL to any webpage or Moodle course page and you can link to the database with off-campus access.

The simplest way to add a link to a Library Database or eJournal is to copy the link from a Library webpage,
e.g. Articles & Databases or Research Guides.

This will ensure the link is correct and includes the EZproxy prefix.

We can also create customized database links, such as a direct link to the Advanced Search pages, or combine multiple databases to cross-search (within a vendor platform, GALE, EBSCO, Proquest.) 

For example, if you want students to search both Culinary Arts Collection and Hospitality,Tourism & Leisure Complete with one search, we can create a custom link.

To link to a specific article, you need a permanent link and the EZproxy prefix. 

EZproxy prefix is http://ciachef.idm.oclc.org/login?url=

Each database has different methods for providing the permanent link.

• Proquest 
  • Click on article title to view full record
  • Click on tab Abstract/Details
  • Scroll down to Document URL
  • Copy url, attach EZproxy prefix, paste
• EBSCO
  • Click on article title to view full record
  • Under Tools (on right side of page) click permalink​
  • Copy url, attach EZproxy prefix, paste
• GALE
  • Click on article title to view full record
  • Scroll down to bottom of article
  • The permanent url is within the Source Citation
  • Note: the EZproxy prefix is already attached, (the url starts with ciachef)

EZproxy prefix is http://ciachef.idm.oclc.org/login?url=

• EBSCO eBook Collection
  • Click on title of book
  • Under Tools (on right side of page) click permalink​
  • Copy url, attach EZproxy prefix, paste
• ProQuest Ebook Central
  • Click on title of book
  • On left side of page, click Share Link to Book
  • Copy url, attach EZproxy prefix, paste