Library & Research Overview: Journals

Library Databases for Articles, EBooks and more can be accessed off-campus by CIA students, staff and faculty from anywhere in the world with an internet connection!

Sign in to Omnivore or select a database, then enter your CIA username and password (the same login id that you use for email, MainMenu, Moodle. etc.)

NOVELNY databases can be accessed from anywhere within New York State.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free service for all currently enrolled CIA students, faculty and staff.

We will email the digital copy (pdf) of the article to you. It may take around 1 week to receive an article.

How to Request an Item thru ILL in Omnivore:

• Search in Omnivore for a title, author, or topic
• Click on Title of item
• Click button Request Item through Interlibrary Loan
• Enter your name, CIA email and date needed

If you do not find the item in Omnivore, you can use the Online ILL Request forms

Learn more about our Interlibrary Loan services.

Searching Tips:

• Use the drop-down menu box to select full-text or item title field.
• Select an Access Type: 
  • Read and Download for full-text available to the CIA Library or
  • All Content to search the entire JSTOR database for citations to articles you can request thru Interlibrary Loan.
• Narrow by:
  • Item Type: typically, select articles
  • Date
• Filter by Disciplines, select one or more subject areas.

Searching is a process, you will try one search, evaluate your results, modify your strategy and try again.

• Start with simple keyword searching
   
• Use the Database Options to Refine or Limit and narrow your search
   
• LIMITS include;
  • Scholarly & Peer Review
  • Full-Text
  • Date of Publication
  • Format or Document Type e.g. article, book review, letter to editor
     
• Evaluate an article by reading the Abstract or summary.
   
• Review your results to identify concepts & terminology that can help improve your search results.
   
• Look at Subject Headings & Descriptors, standard vocabulary terms that describe the contents of articles
   
• Use the Advanced Search screen to mix and match keywords and subjects and more.

​Advanced Search Tips

Phrase Searches    
Search for complete phrases by enclosing them in quotation marks. Words enclosed in double quotes will appear together in all results exactly as typed, e.g. "culinary science", "fast casual"

Truncation & Wildcards *  
The asterisk ('*') matches non-space characters, starting at the specified position in the word. For example, "farm*" will match "farm", "farmer", "farmed", "farming", "farmworker", "farmhouse", etc.

Boolean Operators
Use AND or OR to specify multiple words in any field, any order. Use AND NOT to exclude words.

• stocks AND sauces {search results must have both terms}
• stocks OR sauces {must have at least one of the terms}
• stocks NOT sauces {must have first term and must not include second term}
  ​
• Use the Database Tools to Email, Save & Cite articles.