Skip to main content

Applied Food Studies: The AFS Major

Information and resources for the Bachelor's Degree Program in Applied Food Studies.

About the Applied Food Studies Program

The Applied Food Studies major is an interdisciplinary major that builds upon and academically extends the experiential aspects of the culinary and baking and pastry associate degree programs with a liberal arts, hands-on focus. 

Read more about the Bachelor's Degree in Applied Food Studies

AFS Students

AFS Graduation 2015

AFS Faculty

    

Dr. Denise Bauer
Faculty Profile
Dean—Liberal Arts and Food Studies
Email: d_bauer@culinary.edu

Dr. Maureen Costura
Faculty Profile
Associate Professor—Liberal Arts
Email: m_costur@culinary.edu

    

David Flynn
Faculty Profile
Associate Professor—Liberal Arts
Email: d_flynn@culinary.edu

Dr. Beth Forrest
Faculty Profile
Associate Professor—Liberal Arts
Email: b_forres@culinary.edu

    

Anne M. Henry
Faculty Profile
Associate Professor—Liberal Arts
Email: a_henry@culinary.edu

Dr. Deirdre Murphy
Faculty Profile
Professor—Liberal Arts
Email: d_murphy@culinary.ed

    Dr. Taylor Reid-th

Dr. Taylor Reid
Faculty Profile
Professor—Liberal Arts
Email: 
Taylor.Reid@culinary.edu​

Dr. Nilsa Rodruiguez-Jaca, CIA Professor—Foreign Languages

Dr. Nilsa Rodríguez-Jaca
Faculty Profile
Professor—Liberal Arts 
Email: n_rodrig@culinary.edu

    

Willa Zhen
Faculty Profile
Associate Professor—Liberal Arts CHE
Email: w_zhen@culinary.edu

 

Food & Design Fall 2017 - The Hudson River

Hudson River Food & Design project

Click to view the Powerpoint Slideshow

F&D Carrying plate
F&D Chocolate & Candy Molds
F&D Communal Bowl
F&D Dipping Bowl
F&D Distillia
F&D Fruit Leather
F&D Pickling Tools
F&D Sugar sphere
F&D Serving Plate
F&D Soup Bowl
Sign up for Fall 2018

CIA Food History Students Visit Yale University

Yale History Department

Yale's Babylonian Collection, Home of the World's Oldest Cookbook.

Babylonian Cuneiform Recipe in the Yale Library

Yale Sustainable Farm Project

The Original CIA Classroom on Yale's Campus


The Culinary Institute of America | Conrad N. Hilton Library | 1946 Campus Drive | Hyde Park, NY 12538-1430
Telephone: 845-451-1747 | Email: library@culinary.edu | Facebook Twitter